Ok I can not tell a lie, I stole the title from a friend. She has recently had her birthday so that is how I happened to come across that wonderful phrase. But if I acknowledge it, it's not actually stealing, right Patty :)))
Hmm, now where to start today.
Tomorrow the whole nation stops work and has the day off..... FOR MY BIRTHDAY. Yep, the day I was born, they declared it a public holiday. Well, it is my birthday and, it is a public holiday, so that is my story and I am sticking to it. So they happen to also celebrate Australia Day on MY BIRTHDAY... now rude is that. I was born with the whole 'silver spoon in my mouth' thingy and a bank account and a letter from some dude in some Government Office, the Prime Minister I think, but I can't be bothered going to find it... so some dude will just have to do.
Anyway I hate birthday's, did I say that already??? So every year I usually hide away from the world until the dreaded day is over. I don't celebrate, I don't go out, I don't see anyone, I don't get any presents (I love presents), and I mope about the place thinking of all the things I have never done nor achieved and how I managed to waste yet another year doing nothing.
This year something strange is happening. This year something is different. This year I am NOT freaking out over my birthday.
And....
I have no idea why!
Today G asked me if I wanted to do anything for my birthday tomorrow and instead of saying....'Are you MAD', I said.... 'Yes, ok!'
Then he said 'what' and I answered 'dunno'. So he said, 'well what would you like to do' and I said 'I don't know, but I think I would like to do something'... You may all faint.... NOW.
He didn't seem shocked by my out of the blue, totally out of character, unlike anything I have ever said before, answer. Hmmm now why is that do you suppose, that will drive me nuts trying to work out.
I told my daughters and they asked... 'Would you like to go out for lunch', 'Nahhhhh' I answer. 'What about going out for dinner, Mum?' 'No, I don't want to do dinner either'. 'What about some of the Australia Day celebrations', they ask. 'Definitely NOT. On MY birthday, I think NOT' I tell them.
By this time, everyone gets bored and walks away, but I am actually feeling quite pleases with myself. I actually want to leave the house and either go somewhere or do something for MY birthday. WOW. And I even told them that they have to buy me a pressie this year. I want presents. I even suggested new earphones for my MP3, the one I go walking with, because I don't know if I am the only person in the entire world that can't get those little buds in their ears, but I have the worse time getting them to stay there. My ears are small and delicate and those silly little buds just won't get in there, they are too big and fall out. It was quite the sight, the first time I tried to use them. I had to hold my head in the strangest position trying to keep them in. Naturally it didn't work and they fell out. My daughters looked at me like I was crazy. One said that I was 'challenged' as in 'Mum, you are seriously challenged. If you could see yourself now, trying to keep those ear buds in your ears, you would walk away from you too.'
I ignored her, of course, and asked her if I was missing something. I said, 'they go in the little hole inside your ear, right? Because if they do, that hole is just too small to squeeze them into?' Her response, 'Oh mum, really!!!!!' With that, she was gone.
So I told them today that I wanted, NO, needed a new pair of external earphones, like the old fashioned ones, that go over your ear and mess up your hair. Those, I can use! I am using a very old pair of them now.
G said he was not getting me anything for my birthday as he already bought me some presents over the last couple of weeks. I said 'Nope, doesn't count. I want a new present tomorrow, on my birthday!' He said 'pfft', well that is my interpretation of what he said. G went on to say, 'but I got you the video camera for your birthday, and the... ' something else, I kinda stopped listening to him, you know how it is when husbands go on and on about something you don't want to hear. When he stopped talking, I just said again, 'that doesn't count'. I wonder if he will give me anything in the morning???
the new video camera I got as an early birthday present, which doesn't count
My sister phoned me tonight, to tell me something totally unrelated to me, what was with that! So I interrupted her, and said 'Heyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy, tomorrow is my birthday!!!" and she said 'Oh no, I forgot. Luckily you don't celebrate anyway so it doesn't matter'. Then she said, 'hang on, did you just mention that tomorrow is your birthday????' And I said 'Yes, tomorrow is my birthday' and she said 'Happy birthday for tomorrow' and I said 'Nooooo that doesn't count'. She said a rude word and almost fell off her chair. She wanted to know who I was and what I had done with her sister. I said 'I know, how freaky is this? Tomorrow is my birthday!' She told me to 'Stop that now, it's just not right hearing you so happy on your birthday!' Then she had to go, I think I scared her away.
Today, my business partner asked me what I would like as a present and I politely said 'Nooooo don't be silly you don't have to buy me anything'. But inside I was jumping up and down with glee.... she was going to get me a pressie... woooohoooo.
We also received a phone call tonight from a friend, inviting us to their Australia Day BBQ. He said that he knew that it was my birthday but if we didn't have anything planned then we were welcome to pop around there for the afternoon. Even that sounds good to me this year.
I feel kind of like a kid, how strange is that. Looking forward to my birthday is so so so NOT me. I should be running away from the world. I should be depressed and woeful. Like my sister said, 'who am I?' Maybe, just maybe this year will be a good year. Maybe.


No comments:
Post a Comment