I’ve got too much stuff. Everywhere I look there is stuff. Every draw I open, every cupboard I look in, every shelf I see, everywhere I gaze, is filled with stuff. I hate stuff, I really do.
My husband is a collector, he collects junk. In particular he collects old junk... I hate old junk the most.
He calls it antiques, I call it taking up space. I appear to be the odd one out in my family as my mother is an antique dealer, my sister collects and sells old china, and my husband buys anything old that isn’t nailed down. They say it’s a passion, they say it’s lovely, they say there’s lots of money in antiques, they say they are preserving history... they say a lot of things. I say it’s junk and it takes up space.
I am a minimalist, I love space, I also love grass but that’s another story. I am at my happiest when I am clearing out a room, a cupboard, a shelf, or a draw. I love to declutter, I love space, and I love it when there is nothing around me.
Over the last few weeks I have been trying to declutter. Every few months I go nuts over the amount of junk my husband brings into the house and I start grumbling. Over the period of a week or two, depending on what junk I find around the house, the grumbling turns into louder chatter over the amount of clutter, and eventually I can’t take any more after finding out that one more piece has been snuck into the house and I lose all sense of control and start throwing things out.
This is how I see my husband reacting to my little episodes of ‘must...clean... up...this clutter’.
Coming home from work unexpectedly, as he has a constant and annoying habit of doing at the most awkward moments for me, I imagine he likens me to a naughty little dog that is digging a hole. Not any old hole mind you, but a deep hole, a huge deep humongous hole and all he can see from where he is standing is dirt flying through the air, and so very high into the air. Lots and lots of dirt rising up so high that he is blinded by the sun just looking at it, and the pile is growing bigger and higher as he watches it. And before he can get to the dog to stop it digging, he has lost sight of that dog behind that ginormous pile of dirt. He finally manages to climb over that mountain of dirt and finds the dog happily wagging its tail and digging like there is no tomorrow. Only the dog’s tail and tips of its hind legs are visible to him as the rest of its body is lost somewhere deep in that hole.
Now imagine my husband’s face with its utter displeasure, fury and urgency to stop that dog from causing any more damage. He shouts out ‘STOOOOOP, what do you think you are doing!!!!!’ This loud intrusive noise grabs the dog’s attention and suddenly a cute scruffy bedraggled little head with innocent wide eyes and one ear bent back jerks its head out of that hole and wonders what all the fuss is about behind her. It still has its ‘I’m so happy I am doing this’ look on its face along with the biggest smile, until it realises that the big mean old man standing there is actually waving a fist and getting all red in the face. As he shouts words that slowly start to make sense, she realises that he is actually here to ruin all her fun and she knows that playtime is over for the time being. Yup, that is how I see the situation. Maybe I should start imagining that I am a big nasty Rottweiler instead of a cute scruffy little puppy dog, but that would have to be a whole different story.
Anyway, although you will hear me say to anyone standing still long enough to listen to me, that my house is a mess and cluttered, it is actually not as bad as it sounds, kinda. I mean, gosh there is a lot of stuff here but its spread around the place and it’s inside crystal cabinets and hiding in wardrobes and cupboards and draws. But there is enough of it in plain sight to make me go nuts every now and then as I think it is so pointless having so much useless stuff around the place. For example, what do I need with 3 old wind-up ticky tocky clocks in my lounge room, or 15 bazillion old cameras, or 200 old books given to me one week after I obviously went mental and decided that maybe I would try collecting something myself and as I love books, I thought it was the best choice. Only after I received those 200 books all at once in 20 or so boxes, I kind of lost interest in the whole collecting thing, especially as I didn’t actually collect one of them myself. We also have far too many silver robur teapots, old furniture, lamps, radios, bibles, tools, kitchenware, Australiana, etc, etc, etc... arhhhhhhhhhhhhhh shoot me now, just shoot me now.
When I start a ‘must...clean... up...this clutter’ session I can’t just roll my sleeves up and get stuck in to it. It has to be a progression. I am free to throw anything out which belongs to me at any time without causing my husband to freak out and have a stroke, so that is where I always start, with my junk. The wardrobe is always a great place to start as I can stand in there and throw things out into a big pile in the middle of the bedroom floor. ‘Happy sigh’... it’s always rewarding to see a big pile of throw outs in the middle of the bedroom. I can work through my wardrobe and draws at quite a pace sorting and disposing of things like a crazy lady... yes, no, yes no, keep throw, keep throw... throw, throw, throw, throoooooow. I try to do this while grumpy husband is at work. Then I move on to other safe areas, like the study and laundry rooms. It gets a little trickier in these rooms as they are communal rooms and items could belong to anyone in the household, and if I get a tad carried away it’s goodbye tennis racket, oops that was the new one not the old one... who knew!!! If I get the kids offside it goes against me when my husband finally steps in later down the track.
So after a few days of cleaning the ‘safe’ areas naturally I move onto the ‘You’ve just crossed the line’ areas. Things like moving furniture from one room to the other and changing entire kitchen cupboards around tends to get the attention of my husband. I keep forgetting that when he left for work the dining room was a dining room or the saucepan draw was a saucepan draw, so when he comes home after work it is kinda obvious that I have been ‘up to no good’. But as I always say, ‘if you didn’t bring so much junk into the house, I wouldn’t have to throw so much junk out of the house.’ Besides all I have done so far is throw my junk out, had a few ‘oopies’ of the kids and rearranged a room or two, throwing the odd thing out that hasn’t seen sunlight in at least 6 months or so. I haven’t even started on throwing out all that junk that he calls prized possessions yet, that is tomorrow’s job...


